Gossip Girl – Belle of the Ball

Every Upper East sider has a ball gown or two or six or twelve in her closet. One must always be ready for that black-tie affair.

All the Belles of the Ball love to sparkle and shine but which star will shine the brightest?

You know you love me.
xoxo

The third illustration in my Gossip Girl series collaboration with à la mode [adj. Fusion of effects]. Serena is wearing a Marchesa gown and Blair is wearing Canadian designer Lucian Matis.

This pairing took me a while to figure out. In this series, I didn’t want one dress or outfit to overpower the other. I also tried to find outfits that went well together and took into account how these characters would dress on the show.

I knew I wanted to do a Marchesa gown and when I came across Lucian Matis’ Fall collection, I knew it was a good match. Both collections are almost theatrical in feel and each piece in the collection holds its own.

Leave a Reply

