Lisa goes to New York

What I'm wearing: Marc by Marc Jacobs top, J Brand jeans, Anne Klein wedges, Burberry sunglasses, Kate Spade purse and of course, my trusty iPhone

It’s been 3 weeks since I’ve been back and I’m still missing New York. Toronto seems so much quieter and duller and grey. I miss the yellow cabs, I miss Fifth Avenue, I miss Soho, I miss the hustle and bustle – the energy!

First of all, let me just say that it was an epic trip. New York, Alexander McQueen’s Savage Beauty at the Met, Louis Vuitton and Burberry. EPIC!

Where to begin? with shopping, obviously! The shopping was amazing in Soho. LOVE Soho! I had the chance to visit these amazing stores: AllSaints Spitafields, Original Penguin, Taschen, Madewell, Uniqlo, Kidrobot, Anna Sui, Intermix, Barney’s CO-OP, MoMA and many, many more which we don’t have in Toronto, unfortunately! I also window shopped along Fifth Avenue and Madison Avenue.

Here is the list of things i didn’t buy :(
1. Limited edition (of only 100!) Prada wooden sunglasses made of walnut which looked like the rounded Minimal Baroque versions
2. Prada shoes with scroll cutout similar to this but in a dark brown suede
3. Chanel earrings which i can’t find an image of but they were gorgeous!
4. Alexander McQueen silk scarf which can be found here
5. Converse – Missoni shoes. They didn’t have my size!

Next up, the food. I am still craving the amazing ramen at Ippudo. Definitely THE best ramen I’ve ever had. I also enjoyed these two spots for brunch: Cafe Gitane at The Jane hotel and I had an amazing eggs benedict on a croissant at Rue 57. Oh, and I can’t forget about Shake Shack. Mmmmm, Shake Shack!

And, I think I’ve saved the best for last: Alexander McQueen Savage Beauty at the Met.  It was incredible and unforgettable. The music, the lighting and the settings created a haunting and ethereal experience. Looking at the clothing up close, you could see the incredible craftsmanship and thoughtful intelligence that went into each piece. I could have spent hours and hours gazing at these masterpieces and feel very fortunate that I got the chance to see this exhibition in person. For those of you who can’t, there is a video tour which can be seen here.

Don’t worry NY, I’ll be back. Promise!

2 thoughts on “Lisa goes to New York

Leave a Reply

