My weekend at Blogshop!

I made postcards for everyone! Photo reference from Stoffer Photography for The Everygirl

This past weekend I was fortunate enough to be able to attend Blogshop taught by designer Bri Emery of designlovefest and photographer Angela Kohler. What is Blogshop you ask? Well, it’s sort of a Photoshop bootcamp for bloggers.

Our Blogshop was located in a really cute venue in Liberty Village which is normally used as a photo studio. There were 25 students/bloggers (yes, all girls. Step up, boys!) and we were all dressed up (for photos) and ready to learn! Waiting for us on our desks were pretty flowers and goodie bags filled with all kinds of lovely things.

I’ve been using Photoshop for a number of years, so I didn’t think I would learn too much (I honestly just signed up so I could meet Bri and Angela). Well, was I ever WRONG! I learned so much! I learned to use shortcuts, how to barrel images into shapes and type, liquify (omg!) and how to make animated gifs.

During our first lunch, we had a photo shoot with Angela and she took our portraits to use in class the following day. The results of my photo shoot was posted here. Our lunch on Sunday was a picnic in the park followed by a group photo. I can’t wait to see it! You can see some Instagram snaps of our weekend here.

It was pretty fast-paced and they teach you so, so much in a short period of time. Don’t worry though, they also give you a step-by-step magazine detailing all the lessons in case you forget or need reference.

I also appreciated all the words of wisdom especially with regards to making all the content your own and not rehashing what everyone else has on their blog. Be ORIGINAL, be YOURSELF, take your OWN pictures!

A big thank you to my superstar friend Danielle who helped organize the event. And fun was had after class on Saturday with Bri and Angela involving some ‘celebrities’ and poutine. GOOD TIMES! So sad it’s over. I may have to plan a trip to LA!

P.S. You’ll soon be seeing the results of all the great things I learned in class.

4 thoughts on “My weekend at Blogshop!

Leave a Reply

