New York diary – day 1

Ahhh, New York… I love this city! I love the hustle and bustle. I love the skyscrapers and lights and yes, even the noise.

It was a whirlwind of a trip with my bestie Gigi – a short 3 days, 2-1/2 really, minus travel time. I tried in vain to make a schedule for us, but with so much to do in such little time, we didn’t really stick to it and that’s ok. Since this was a girls’ trip, let’s face it, it was pretty much all about the shopping and that’s why we chose 60 Thompson which is right on the cusp of SoHo.

Some tips for getting around:
We flew on Porter airlines and arrived in Newark. My brother had suggested that we take the AirTrain instead of a taxi into Manhattan to save money. The AirTrain takes you all the way from the airport to Penn station for $12.50. Deal! It reminded me of the Go trains that we have here in Toronto. Once we got to Penn station, we bought our 7-day unlimited MetroCards since that’s how we would be getting around the city. My friend also got a sim card from T-Mobile and unlimited data for $2 a day so that we could figure out where we were going. Oh, and these apps are really helpful for getting around NY: NYC Mate (transit maps for everything), Immaculate Infatuation (where to eat), MenuPages (what’s on the menu), TimeOut (what’s going on), The Scoop (the NYT scoop).

We got to our hotel around 2:30pm and checked in. Asking for a higher floor gets you a view and if you check-in on Foursquare, the special is free wi-fi! After unpacking our clothes, we headed out into the city. It was 3pm by this time and we were famished. We headed to the Mercer Kitchen and I’m sorry to say, but as this was our first meal in NYC, it left lots to be desired. I ordered eggs Benedict and my friend ordered a burger. My eggs were overcooked: the yolks were hard!: -25. The potatoes were undercooked: -10. My friend’s burger was undercooked: -25. No one came to ask how our meal was: -100. Very, very disappointing meal!

To get over that dismal experience, we shopped in SoHo for about an hour or so before we had to find our way to the salon to get our mani-pedis at tenoverten. I loved the experience! They have iPads instead of magazines and a really good selection of polishes from Essie and Nars to Chanel.

As soon as our nails were done, we had to rush over to Momofuku Noodle Bar to meet some friends for dinner. After an hour-long wait, we were seated and we ordered pork buns and Momofuku ramen from the menu. Again, I was disappointed with our meal. The ramen at Ippudo was so much better, there’s no comparison. The pork buns were just ok. In my opinion, I don’t think this place is worth the hype. Thankfully, our company more than made up for this meal.

After dinner, we went back to our hotel for some drinks at the rooftop bar. This was my favourite part of the day. Good music, drinks, twinkling lights and girl-talk. The seating is pretty limited so it also feels cozy. My friend bought some jeans at Rag & Bone for $55 so I think that was her highlight. All in all, a good end to a hectic first day in the big apple.

P.S. Here’s a google map of the places we visited on day 1.

3 thoughts on “New York diary – day 1

  1. I’m glad your experiencing New York in a non tradional touristy way. Sorry about the food, sometimes the ‘best’ food in NY isn’t all the hype. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay!

Leave a Reply

