Flare – World Runway Tour

Flare-WRT-13

On October 25th, Flare Magazine hosted it’s second annual World Runway Tour at the Design Exchange in Toronto. The event was hosted by Breakfast Television’s Jennifer Valentyne with fall fashion trends presented by Flare’s Fashion Director Tiyana Grulovic followed by a runway show showcasing those trends courtesy of Holt Renfrew.

Prior to the show, I was commissioned to sketch the stylish guests at the cocktail reception. Armed with markers and watercolour pencils and a tiny watercolour kit, I started to roam around and ask guests if they’d like to be sketched by me. It was a pretty daunting experience since I had declined several other commissions for live sketching because I didn’t feel like I was ready (or good enough). Some of the illustrations turned out great, and some I wish I could redo but I think everyone I sketched was happy with the results and that’s all that matters, really.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos of my illustrations but I did a quick sketch of Tiyana Grulovic while she was on stage before the runway show. So, while it was a bit scary, I did learn and grow from this experience and hopefully I’ll get to do it again!

Leave a Reply

